You are here


Francisco Aranda Ordaz Award

Results Available

The Awardees for the Francisco Aranda Ordaz Award are


  • Probability: Roberto Amaru Cortez Milán - Tesis: “Propagación de caos para sistemas de partículas de interacción de salto puro”. Advisor: Joaquin Fontbona Torres. Universidad de Chile
  • Statistics: Nicolas Garcia Trillos - Tesis: "Variational limit of graph cuts on point clouds". Advisor: Dejan Slepcev. Carnegie Mellon University, EEUU.

Honorific Mention:

  • Probability: Ricardo Misturini - Tesis: “Metastability of the ABC model in the zero-temperature limit and of reversible random walks in potential felds”. Advisor: Claudio Landim. IMPA, Brasil
  • Statistics: Sabrina Lorena Duarte - Tesis: “Modelos lineales generalizados: regresión de rango reducido y reducción suficiente de dimensiones”. Advisors: Liliana Forzani y Efstathia Bura. Universidad Nacional del Litoral, Argentina


The LARC-SLAPEM organizes, every two/three years, a prize to honor the memory of Francisco Aranda-Ordaz, a distinguished young Mexican statistician who died tragically in 1991. Sponsored by the Bernoulli Society, the Francisco Aranda-Ordaz Award is bestowed for one thesis in Probability and one thesis in Statistics written by students from Latin America, regardless of the country of the university offering the degree, or by students from other nationalities who received the degree from a Latin American university. The winners are invited to present their works at the CLAPEM meeting.

Theses defended during the period of May, 2014 to April, 2016 are eligible for consideration in this edition of the Award.

A complete submission consists of:

• The complete dissertation, submitted in electronic form.

• The official university final exam form, signed by the student's doctoral committee or by other university officials, as appropriate.

• A letter from the thesis advisor stating that he/she agrees to submit the dissertation for consideration of the award committee.

The official languages of the Award are Spanish, Portuguese, English and French. The Committee will consider other languages as an exception.

The Award Committee for 2014-2016 is coordinated by Ricardo Fraiman (chair). The Committee will notify the award winners by September 30, 2016.

Awardees will be invited to attend the CLAPEM to be held in San José, Costa Rica, in December 5-9, 2016 to present their work in a Special Invited Session.

Nominations should be sent in electronic form to 

Deadline for submission of nominations is August 15, 2016. No exceptions will be made.


© 2016 Universidad de Costa Rica.
Ciudad Universitaria Rodrigo Facio, San Pedro de Montes de Oca
San José, Costa Rica
Tel. (506) 2511-6606